Acepo L'Association des conseils scolaires des écoles publiques de l'Ontario Skip Navigation

Jurisprudence

    Jurisprudence

    The Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms

     Under Section 23 of the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms, Ontario’s Francophones have a right to French-language elementary and secondary education.

     

    Section 23

    Section 23 of the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms pertains to the right to instruction in the language of the official language minority. In Ontario, this language is French. Section 23 states that, wherever their numbers warrant, Francophones have a right to publicly-funded French-language elementary and secondary education.

    Language of instruction
    •  (1) Citizens of Canada

      • (a) whose first language learned and still understood is that of the English or French linguistic minority population of the province in which they reside, or

      • (b) who have received their primary school instruction in Canada in English or French and reside in a province where the language in which they received that instruction is the language of the English or French linguistic minority population of the province,

      have the right to have their children receive primary and secondary school instruction in that language in that province. (93)

    • Marginal note:Continuity of language instruction

      (2) Citizens of Canada of whom any child has received or is receiving primary or secondary school instruction in English or French in Canada, have the right to have all their children receive primary and secondary school instruction in the same language.

    • Marginal note:Application where numbers warrant

      (3) The right of citizens of Canada under subsections (1) and (2) to have their children receive primary and secondary school instruction in the language of the English or French linguistic minority population of a province

      • (a) applies wherever in the province the number of children of citizens who have such a right is sufficient to warrant the provision to them out of public funds of minority language instruction; and

      • (b) includes, where the number of those children so warrants, the right to have them receive that instruction in minority language educational facilities provided out of public funds.

Acepo L'Association des conseils scolaires des écoles publiques de l'Ontario Skip Navigation

Jurisprudence

    Jurisprudence

    La charte canadienne des droits et libertés

    Les francophones de l’Ontario ont droit à un enseignement en langue française aux paliers élémentaire et secondaire en vertu de l’article 23 de la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés.

     

    L’article 23

    L’article 23 de la Charte traite des « droits à l’instruction dans la langue de la minorité » de l’une des langues officielles. En Ontario, il s’agit, bien sûr, du français.

    L’article 23 précise que, partout où le nombre d’enfants le justifie, les francophones ont le droit de les faire instruire, à l’élémentaire et au secondaire, dans des établissements financés par les fonds publics.

     

    Texte intégral de l’article 23 :

     

    Droits à l’instruction dans la langue de la minorité

    (1) Les citoyens canadiens :

    (a) dont la première langue apprise et encore comprise est celle de la minorité francophone ou anglophone de la province où ils résident,

    (b) qui ont reçu leur instruction, au niveau primaire, en français ou en anglais au Canada et qui résident dans une province où la langue dans laquelle ils ont reçu cette instruction est celle de la minorité francophone ou anglophone de la province, ont, dans l’un ou l’autre cas, le droit d’y faire instruire leurs enfants, aux niveaux primaire et secondaire, dans cette langue.

    (2) Les citoyens canadiens dont un enfant a reçu ou reçoit son instruction, au niveau primaire ou secondaire, en français ou en anglais au Canada ont le droit de faire instruire tous leurs enfants, aux niveaux primaire et secondaire, dans la langue de cette instruction.

    (3) Le droit reconnu aux citoyens canadiens par les paragraphes (1) et (2) de faire instruire leurs enfants, aux niveaux primaire et secondaire, dans la langue de la minorité francophone ou anglophone d’une province :

    (a) s’exerce partout dans la province où le nombre des enfants des citoyens qui ont ce droit est suffisant pour justifier à leur endroit la prestation, sur les fonds publics, de l’instruction dans la langue de la minorité;

    (b) comprend, lorsque le nombre de ces enfants le justifie, le droit de les faire instruire dans des établissements d’enseignement de la minorité linguistique financés sur les fonds publics.